Thursday, November 20, 2014

Outside My Window


You can order this comic (and most any other Incidental Comic) in poster from - visit my poster shop for details.

Monday, October 27, 2014

A Full Book of Sketches

I wrote a post about my process and shared some some pages from my sketchbook over on the Incidental Comics tumblr. In it I attempt to answer to the impossible question, "Where do you get your ideas?"


Tuesday, October 14, 2014

My Favorite Things



Happy autumn! It's the perfect season to carry a sketchbook.

As always, posters are available at my shop.

Thursday, September 11, 2014

A is for Abecedarian: A Literary Alphabet


This comic was adapted from The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by Chris Baldick. It's a fascinating and easy-to-understand reference book that demands to be illustrated. Stay tuned for more letters in the weeks to come.

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Friday, July 18, 2014

The Writers' Retreat


This drawing appears in the July 20 NY Times Book Review. Thanks to AD Nicholas Blechman and editor Pamela Paul!

You can order a poster at my shop.

Monday, July 7, 2014

Creative Thinking



You can order a poster of this comic at my shop. Hang it above your desk to ward off negative, unproductive thoughts.

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Picasso Blues



Picasso's "Blue Room" is in the news - read more about it here. Picasso's Blue Period was a fascinating (if somewhat melodramatic) time in his career. For best results, sing the words of this comic in the voice of bluesman Robert Johnson. The greatest song about Picasso, however, was written by Jonathan Richman.

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Life with a Toddler







In celebration of Father's Day, I drew this comic about the beautiful chaos of having an 18-month-old.

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Conflict in Literature


Posters of this comic (and most every other comic on my site) can be ordered at my shop.

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Writing a Poem


You can order a poster of this comic (and all the other comics for National Poetry Month) by following the instructions at my shop.

Sunday, April 20, 2014

Finding Purpose


Illustration for the 4/20 NY Times Sunday Review, for an op-ed about finding meaning at work rather than through volunteering. Thanks to AD Aviva Michaelov!

Monday, April 14, 2014

Unexpected Rain Song


National Poetry Month on Incidental Comics continues with this reimagining of the classic Langston Hughes poem "April Rain Song." I first read this poem in the children's poetry anthology "Sing a Song of Popcorn," which remains one of the most-read books on my bookshelf.

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Understanding Poetry

Happy National Poetry Month! This comic was inspired by one of my favorite poems, "The New Poetry Handbook" by Mark Strand. This month on Incidental Comics, I'll be exploring the world of poetry. A place, as Marianne Moore famously said, of  "imaginary gardens with real toads in them."

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Saturday, March 1, 2014

The Three Rays


This comic appears in the 3/2/2014 NYT Sunday Book Review. Thanks to editor Pamela Paul and AD Nicholas Blechman!

You can order a poster at my shop.